HNY 2013

The new year has arrived. Welcome 2013! Have I resolutions? Yes, I have: I want to finish this patchwork quilt for my Mum (already on 4 Jan 2013) and I want to write my Doctor thesis so that I can get my Doctor degree in History (also this year). So far I’m still out of work — so to speak, because I only haven’t got a job I earn money for. Writing a Doctor thesis indeed is work plus I do some guide tours through the interior of my university library (also for free). But come the Ides of March I need another job I earn money for. Otherwise it won’t be too great for the daily living. I won’t finish my thesis by then but I hope I will have written a huge part of it. Maybe it can help if I’ll write more than ever in here about my subject and the forthcoming. But for now I have some other photographs for you.

HNY 2013

On New Year’s Eve / New Year’s Day I went for the Augustusbrücke in Dresden. It was sick, really: far too many people with too many fireworks and crackers but I had found a nice place on the river Elbe to place my camera there.

HNY 2013

There can’t be an economic crisis when such a firework happens just here. I can only imagine that there were similar fireworks all over that planet. Just imagine further what we could do with all the money if we hadn’t spend it for it (but perhaps buying all this makes the big economic crisis just a little one, who knows? I haven’t studied economics. I don’t need to know).

HNY 2013

HNY 2013

HNY 2013

HNY 2013

HNY 2013

And last but not least I have almost five minutes of Dresden fireworks for you:

And then I have done a picture from a clique from Prague. It was not easy to communicate as they’d hardly spoken English or German and for myself I can’t speak Czech unfortunately. But apart from that tiny hurdle we had a good time. The blond girl told me that it was the best New Year’s Eve in her whole life. As they go back to Prague tomorrow I wish them a save journey and if they might see this picture: just call me / leave a message. It’s not the best picture I’ve ever made, that’s for sure! But in some way I like it:

HNY 2013

And here we are. No firework photographs left, only the remainings that tomorrow will remind us all that every new beginning isn’t just fun but also hard work sometimes. Happy New Year then!

HNY 2013

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year 2013

  1. Hello, Happy New Year to you hunni!! Thanks for posting those beautiful pics of Germany, I think they were stunning!! No such a thing in the poor Highlands of Scotland but they had many in Edinburgh though!! I wish you’ll finish your doctor thesis soon and thus find a job later. I’m so far from such an achievement that I can’t even think of it. History and archaeology, what a hard life!!
    My best wishes,
    Merlin xxx

    P.S. I’ll be in Germany too next year, for an archaeological excavation. Exciting!!

    Like

    1. Wish you a Happy New Year, too! And thanks for your wishes. As for yourself: I hope that you have fun on History and Archaeology. Because as long as you have fun everything will be fine! Edinburgh has to be a great city for fireworks. Maybe I’ll google for some pictures. But I can’t imagine more fireworks than here. It was just too much! Was even going on until 7am today. So in some way I am quite happy that it’s over😉

      PS. Where will you have your excavation?

      Like

      1. I know, I’m enjoying it so much!! two fabulous subjects!!
        Well I think London with their 15 minutes of fireworks outshone many cities last night!!
        My excavation will be in Magdeburg.
        x

        Like

        1. Ah, Magdeburg. I once was there for a weekend at the university before I travelled back home with a short stop in Leipzig for a visit to my Grandma just to realize that The Police had one of their last concerts there on the very evening. And I still got a ticket for it. It was great!

          I also have a few pictures of Magdeburg. Just a tiny set but there might be some more on the SD-card. I will have a look!

          Like

Leave a Reply

