Two weeks ago, for the seventh time already, there happened to be a duck race on the river Elbe. Not with real ducks but rubber ducks, ducks you would usually use in a bathtub but were used here in open water for charity reasons.

7,000 little rubber ducks racing for victory.
7,000 little rubber ducks racing for victory.

I only noticed that there was something like this happening last year. I told Kay from the other side of the big pond and she was amazed instantly. So, for this year we decided to get two ducks (€5 each) to support the charity (all the money went to KAOS, an organization that supports and teach children in circus activities like juggling). There were 7,000 rubber ducks available and all of them were sold very quickly.

The first 133 ducks did win some prize for their owners.
The first 133 ducks did win some prize for their owners.

To make sure that all ducks will be sold, many sponsors made 133 prizes available for the first 133 ducks to pick them up, so to speak. Now, the start of this race was the top of the Carola bridge and ended just before the Augustus bridge (click here for the route). When I said “on top of the Carola bridge”, yes, that’s right: the ducks were exposed to gravity when they made their way from the bridge into the water of the river Elbe. After this initial push, everything was up to flowing of the river.

Having two own ducks competing, my own experience of all that was slightly frustrating. I made it to the Carola bridge just in time to see the ducks made their way into the water but then had to push my way through lots of people to get to the Augustus bridge to get some sight of the finish line. Next time, I will just stay on the Carola bridge. Because the list of the first 133 victorious ducks I only got to know one day later via the internet. And what should I say: one of my ducks made it to a whopping 20th place. Good boy!

Frauenkirche in the distance.
Frauenkirche in the distance.

Homepage of the Dresdner Enten-Cup (only in German).

3 thoughts on “The Rubber Duck Race of Dresden

  1. What a fun event in the beautiful setting of Dresden! And all for such a cool cause. I couldn’t believe there was such a whimsical and playful thing as a rubber duck race, but thanks to you, Seamus, I can now say that I have taken part in one. The only trouble is that my own rubber duck is no longer content with the bathtub, but wants to race like his German cousins do. We start training in the washing machine tomorrow. – Kay

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comment. Glad you liked it! And now I really like to see a video from your duckie in the washing machine😉 I’m also curious what happened to the 7,000 ducks that competed in the race… I need to get that information.

      Like

  2. Well, I have a boatload of laundry to do, so you might just get that video! Maybe they put all the duckies in a drained swimming pool and have people swim through for charity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

