Every time Dean Ambrose is allowed to speak just a little longer my intensity of listening grows and when he’s finally finished talking sometimes I don’t even realize. It’s not only his voice that is unique, it’s also his style, variation and rhythm that just keeps you praying that you won’t miss one single word.

"I'm obviously not your average run-of-the-mill WWE Superstar to walk down that aisle. They say, I have quirks and eccentricities, and they'll try to tell you that I have a screw loose or something, and that's fine, you can say whatever you want about me, I don't care. 'Cause if I've proven anything, it's that I am a survivor and I will continue to survive and thrive in WWE, no matter who or what stands in my way. Let me tell you a little story, a story about when I was a young boy. My mother hands me a twenty dollar bill, she says, walk down to the store, get me a pack of cigarettes, some scratch-off lottery tickets. So I'm walking down the street and I run into a group of older guys, and they want to know what I got on me. And they rough me up pretty good, and they take my twenty dollar bill. I'm going home to my mum empty handed. I tell her what happened. She opens up a drawer; she pulls out a pair of brass knuckles; she hands them to me and she says, well, don't ever let it happen again. These brass knuckles are your survival kit. And I carry a survival kit with me everywhere I go to this day. My hands, my feet, my knees, my elbows, my head, my teeth... I'm a walking, talking survival kit and I will bite, scratch, claw, punch and kick – whatever it takes. At 'Survivor Series', I'm gonna break Bray Wyatt's nose and his teeth, he's never gonna wanna open his mouth again. I'm gonna take this fist, I'm gonna bounce it off his skull over and over and over, and I'm not gonna stop until both his eyes are swollen shut and my knuckles are bleeding. If Bray Wyatt wants to survive, all he needs in his survival kit is the ability to run. Run and hide, hide in the shadows. Run, back to the woods, or whatever it is you say you came from. Bray Wyatt said a lot of things about me, about my dad, about my past and a lot of it's true, so what? Yeah, he got under my skin just a little bit, and that's only bad for him because Bray Wyatt, you're not talking to some scared lonely child, you're talking to a grown man. And now I am the hunter, and you are the prey. At 'Survivor Series', you will be stalked, tormented and ultimately, you will be put down." --DEAN AMBROSE.
“I’m obviously not your average run-of-the-mill WWE Superstar to walk down that aisle. They say, I have quirks and eccentricities, and they’ll try to tell you that I have a screw loose or something, and that’s fine, you can say whatever you want about me, I don’t care. ‘Cause if I’ve proven anything, it’s that I am a survivor and I will continue to survive and thrive in WWE, no matter who or what stands in my way. Let me tell you a little story, a story about when I was a young boy. My mother hands me a twenty dollar bill, she says, walk down to the store, get me a pack of cigarettes, some scratch-off lottery tickets. So I’m walking down the street and I run into a group of older guys, and they want to know what I got on me. And they rough me up pretty good, and they take my twenty dollar bill. I’m going home to my mum empty handed. I tell her what happened. She opens up a drawer; she pulls out a pair of brass knuckles; she hands them to me and she says, well, don’t ever let it happen again. These brass knuckles are your survival kit. And I carry a survival kit with me everywhere I go to this day. My hands, my feet, my knees, my elbows, my head, my teeth… I’m a walking, talking survival kit and I will bite, scratch, claw, punch and kick – whatever it takes. At ‘Survivor Series’, I’m gonna break Bray Wyatt’s nose and his teeth, he’s never gonna wanna open his mouth again. I’m gonna take this fist, I’m gonna bounce it off his skull over and over and over, and I’m not gonna stop until both his eyes are swollen shut and my knuckles are bleeding. If Bray Wyatt wants to survive, all he needs in his survival kit is the ability to run. Run and hide, hide in the shadows. Run, back to the woods, or whatever it is you say you came from. Bray Wyatt said a lot of things about me, about my dad, about my past and a lot of it’s true, so what? Yeah, he got under my skin just a little bit, and that’s only bad for him because Bray Wyatt, you’re not talking to some scared lonely child, you’re talking to a grown man. And now I am the hunter, and you are the prey. At ‘Survivor Series’, you will be stalked, tormented and ultimately, you will be put down.” –DEAN AMBROSE.

Dean Ambrose opens up on his favourite childhood toy
And that’s why I keep transcribing his promos and basically every word he says. Not just because I can but because for me it’s the music of his promos what’s the best about him. His fangirls might say that he looks great and all. But for me he just looks ordinary. Some photographs might do him justice but for me his look isn’t that much special. But what do I know. Anyway, I also don’t prefer just his voice. You can have a voice like Dean Ambrose has and still you are not able to use it. But he definitely is able to use his voice, his instrument that makes him unique and outstanding. And that’s another reason I keep transcribing his promos. Because I don’t need to listen to him any longer. When I read his promos in my own voice, or when I just read them in silence, I always hear his voice inside my head. You basically know that some certain quote is by Dean Ambrose when you only read it. And that makes him special – with his promos he creates music that everybody likes to hear on and on and on. Like you would listen to a song in a loop because you just can’t stop.

Now for the actual content of his promo, it wasn’t something new when you know his Moxley promos. I also have heard this specific brass knuckles story somewhere else before but can’t quite remember which promo that was. I’m also too lazy to search for it right now. But also if you don’t know it and haven’t heard him talking about brass knuckles before, then it’s a nice connection to William Regal and his love for brass knuckles. Only yesterday Dean Ambrose told us a nice story about car riding with William Regal, that the man tells serious stories that turn out to be twenty-minute jokes with somehow reaching their punchline at the very end. If you’d like to listen yourself, just click the link (for the specific William Regal segment go to 5:25min). And on the WWE App William Regal was even mentioned twice. Since The Authority will lose all their power on Sunday, I’ve got all these strings connecting themselves inside of my mind about forthcoming storylines and personnel. But I highly doubt that something of this kind will happen, so I don’t even talk about it. It’s just nice to get some connections here and there and that’s all.

Bray Wyatt wants to be Dean Ambrose’s dad
Bray Wyatt instantly appeared on the big screen within something that looked similar to a prison cell. This is what he had to answer:

Dean Ambrose “Let me ask you a question, Dean. Is this what it was like? Is this how you remember him, locked inside a cage like an animal? When you look at me right now, are you reminded of him? Hi, Dean, it’s dad! Remember me? I’m the one who gave you life and then left you alone to rot in it! And I came here, Dean, today, behind these bars to remind you that the apple does not fall far from the tree. This! This is your future. Forever trapped inside a prison of your own design, raging against these bars, begging for freedom that you will not receive, praying to a deity that does not exist so that you may save yourself as the walls of your subconscious close in ever… so… slowly. But it didn’t have to be like this, Dean. It could’ve been different, man… you and I, we could’ve ruled the world, but you changed all that. So instead, I am going to leave this cell, and then, I’m going to leave you drowning inside a pool of your own filth… just like daddy did. And in here, Dean, it can never end. It will never end in here, Dean! It never ends! It never ends.”
    –BRAY WYATT.

Before I talk about it just a little bit, there is something else for you: the second part of my “Words Per Second Ratio” by Dean Ambrose compared with Bray Wyatt:

Words Per Second Ratio Dean Ambrose Bray Wyatt
Words 425 209
Seconds 166 137
Words per second 2.56 w/s 1.53 w/s

For comparison just go to my review of SmackDown from 07 November 2014 and find the first part of this kind.

Now, this time Dean Ambrose had slightly more time for his talking, so his ratio wasn’t that fast paced like the first one I had covered like this, while Bray Wyatt’s ratio was almost the same. No variation whatsoever.

But even weirder is what Bray Wyatt actually had to tell us. Now he wants to be the father of Dean Ambrose to save him or something like this? It’s getting really strange here and I can only hope that rumors are true and CM Punk coming back only for a feud with Dean Ambrose. I still highly doubt that he will ever come back. There are even rumors that AJ Lee could quit WWE after Survivor Series to have more time with her husband. So, if anything it’s the other way round. But still, if CM Punk could save Dean Ambrose from this feud, I would be the last who wouldn’t appreciate that. But CM Punk only just got a contract with Marvel to write a comic book story, so I still don’t think that this will happen anytime soon.

Special: Dean Ambrose picks his Survivor Series dream team

Credit: WWE.
Credit: WWE.

WWE did this little survey with a few of their wrestlers and since Dean Ambrose was one of them, I’ll put in here his choices because I find it really unique. And you can sense here that he is probably the biggest wrestling nerd with only wrestling going on in his mind that currently graces the surface of this planet. I mean, except for Terry Funk I haven’t heard from any of them and I can’t even connect the names with the pictures. Now, here he explains why he had chosen these specific guys:

“[Nick Bockwinkel would] bring a little class and prestige to a team that will have some unsavory characters on it. We need some level-headed veteran leadership to right the ship.

Terry Funk is unpredictable and versatile and impossible to plan for.

“And third would be Vader, because myself and Terry Funk can take a lot of punishment. We’re gonna need a guy that can really dish it out, and Vader would be the heavy of the team.

“[Tully Blanchard] is a brilliant strategist, and a guy with a really good motor to really wear out the opposing team and really keep the pace up.”


PS. If you are interested in my Dean Ambrose collages, just click here to find the whole collection on Pinterest. And if you like William Regal just half the amount I do, then I recommend to click here for a video collection of his segments as General Manager of NXT on Dailymotion. It’s not yet finished but I’m working on it.

3 thoughts on “SmackDown 14/11/21: Dean Ambrose has got this special variation and rhythm in his speaking that keeps me listening the same amount I keep reading texts of Thomas Bernhard

  1. I know it’s been awhile since you wrote this but you put into words exactly what attracts me to Dean Ambrose; it’s that voice. He’s not the kind of guy I’m normally attracted to at all (Roman is more that type) but it’s the same thing that made me fall in love with Chris Jericho. It’s the way they deliver their promos, it resonates with you emotionally and it’s captivating. I’m just glad somebody else put it in words so I could understand it myself.

    Like

    1. Cheers for leaving me your view / comment. I actually had to go and read it before I was able to reply. Because, like you said, I’ve written this a long time ago. But time doesn’t matter. It’s always nice to get a reaction from the people I usually only see that someone clicked and probably read certain pages / articles. Even if it’s for a post from almost two years ago.

      I’m not that much into wrestling right now like I was two years ago but when I watch something WWE, it’s always Ambrose related and mostly because of a captivating promo. I still think that he’s best used and has got his best segments as a heel. So, I hope he turns soon. But despite this, Ambrose certainly is one of the very few people in WWE who has got this rare ability to get you invested in him with just a few words from a backstage area.

      Like

Leave a Reply

