We are not even one week away from the Royal Rumble. I’m under no illusions that there is no way Dean Ambrose could actually win this. So, I’m not very enthusiastic about this SmackDown review here.

"When I was a kid, I was the one you avoided on the playground. I never did play well with others. And when I got my report card from school, it always said 'disruptive in class'. But that's going to serve me well. I'm one of the thirty competitors in the Royal Rumble match. The way I see it, anybody can win. The person who's going to win this match, isn't going to care about friendships or alliances or any of that 'do the right thing' crap. The person who wins this match isn't going to give a damn about their own physical well-being. As long as the end justifies the means, right? So don't count me out. Count me in! As far as tonight goes, two of my opponents in the Royal Rumble are my partners tonight, and we got one big thing in common. We detest The Authority. Nobody tells me what to do. I just go out there and do it." --DEAN AMBROSE.
“When I was a kid, I was the one you avoided on the playground. I never did play well with others. And when I got my report card from school, it always said ‘disruptive in class’. But that’s going to serve me well. I’m one of the thirty competitors in the Royal Rumble match. The way I see it, anybody can win. The person who’s going to win this match, isn’t going to care about friendships or alliances or any of that ‘do the right thing’ crap. The person who wins this match isn’t going to give a damn about their own physical well-being. As long as the end justifies the means, right? So don’t count me out. Count me in! As far as tonight goes, two of my opponents in the Royal Rumble are my partners tonight, and we got one big thing in common. We detest The Authority. Nobody tells me what to do. I just go out there and do it.” –DEAN AMBROSE.

Dean Ambrose remembers the WWE Universe that he doesn’t like The Authority

Credit: prowrestlingnow on Tumblr.
Credit: prowrestlingnow on Tumblr.
Dean Ambrose We are one hour away from RAW kicking off, probably once again with a lengthy opening promo with The Authority and John Cena including some old Hall of Famers. So, having SmackDown aired on Thursdays now didn’t help much for me to write this here earlier. Consequently I just write a few words about what happened at the latest SmackDown to remember some indications for future storylines / feuds maybe.

Now, the start of SmackDown was supposed to be a match between Daniel Bryan and Kane. But The Authority came out as well in full numbers. So, at some point, when Daniel Bryan had Kane in the Yes Lock, he was attacked by J+J Security, so the match was finished with disqualification. Consequently Daniel Bryan won the match and somehow was able to flee the ring towards the ramp. The Authority was following him but only until Dean Ambrose and Roman Reigns appeared by Daniel Bryan’s side. Triple H then announced the main event as a six-man tag match between Daniel Bryan, Dean Ambrose & Roman Reigns vs Kane, Seth Rollins & Big Show.

Just after Wade Barrett defended successfully his Intercontinental Championship against Sin Cara, Dean Ambrose cut a short promo from an undisclosed area. And this promo you could already read in the caption to the collage earlier in this post. Once again the not caring, not taking anyone as a friend character. But since WWE asking once again if Dean Ambrose will be his own worst enemy and if he can overcome his own demons and something like that, I can’t think that they will let him win the Royal Rumble. Instead he will be eliminated because of his own fault and he will look completely ridiculous while doing so. Yes, I’m fearing the worst. And that could be another stupid mid-card feud in which he’ll have to make another guy look strong for Wrestlemania.

Once again the babyface punching bag makes Roman Reigns look strong

Credit: thefailedheel on Tumblr.
Credit: thefailedheel on Tumblr.
Dean Ambrose And the main event wasn’t really any different from other tag matches of that kind: Dean Ambrose had the most match time as usual and he had to take a lot of punishment from all three opponents. Adding to that he still had to sell his left knee. I guess that’s made in the first place, so he can’t look strong at all. I can also see it the positive way: in making Dean Ambrose injured and with a very weak spot, his win of the Royal Rumble would even more look like a miracle. But I somehow doubt that this will happen. Still. For some reason, Vince McMahon likes the guy but he doesn’t think that he’s a main event superstar. He writes (some of) his rubbish promos and thinks they are good. Sometimes I think Vince McMahon literally is a few different persons.

It’s also for some strange reason that I like Dean Ambrose being beaten and him selling injuries is always entertaining because he always makes it believable. But at the same time I hate it for him being the punching bag, so he throws his body in for the opponents to beat him senseless, make them weak all together, just for Roman Reigns to get the hot tag and the win. After all, this wasn’t the case tonight because it was the night when Daniel Bryan made his return to fighting, so he got the hot tag and the win with his high knee on Kane. Roman Reigns on the other side just had two little cameo segments. So, this whole set-up and scenario makes me believe that indeed Daniel Bryan will win the Royal Rumble to get his title reign from last year.

Leave a Reply

