WWE hypes and teases Dean Ambrose as the new Intercontinental champion in the pre-show to FastLane just to make him lose again because of his temper. This has become an annoying pattern. And the fun part of him stealing the belt from Wade Barrett doesn’t make up for the foul booking.

"The Intercontinental Championship isn't looked at the same way it was when I was a kid. It used to be the championship that guys like Ricky Steamboat, Mr. Perfect, Brett Hart held – Macho Man Randy Savage, going into the Hall of Fame this year. These were guys that went out there every night and delivered every bit of their mind, body, and soul, and left it all in the ring. You know, that was like the workhorse championship. It used to be a stepping stone to greater things, to the World Championship. I'm the real thing, and I'm the kind of guy who should be holding the Intercontinental Championship. I been out here getting pounded on every night, and taking risks that most guys will never be willing to take every single night. Even in The Shield – with my best friend Roman Reigns – you know, I was like the goon doing all the dirty work and a lot of times he was the one getting all the glory. And, uh, there's no sour grapes there – he's my best friend – but, you know, sometimes it's nice to be put in a position, like I'll be at FastLane, where, you know, I can take home the gold. (...) This is the time of year where, you know, it's playoff season. You start to gear up and work out just a little bit – that much harder, and everything just gets intensified. And, you know, it’s the time of year where you don't make mistakes. I don't believe that the championship make the guy. I believe the guy makes the championship. There hasn't been a guy who's wanted to make that championship in a long time. It's a reward to be able to say I'm WWE Intercontinental Champion because what that's meant in the past, and what that can mean in the future. I'm gonna bust Wade Barrett up. I'm gonna beat Wade Barrett. I'm gonna win the Intercontinental Championship. I'm gonna bring that championship back to where it belongs – back to prominence. I'm gonna take it to WrestleMania, and I'm gonna take that championship to heights it ain't ever been." --DEAN AMBROSE.
“The Intercontinental Championship isn’t looked at the same way it was when I was a kid. It used to be the championship that guys like Ricky Steamboat, Mr. Perfect, Brett Hart held – Macho Man Randy Savage, going into the Hall of Fame this year. These were guys that went out there every night and delivered every bit of their mind, body, and soul, and left it all in the ring. You know, that was like the workhorse championship. It used to be a stepping stone to greater things, to the World Championship. I’m the real thing, and I’m the kind of guy who should be holding the Intercontinental Championship. I been out here getting pounded on every night, and taking risks that most guys will never be willing to take every single night. Even in The Shield – with my best friend Roman Reigns – you know, I was like the goon doing all the dirty work and a lot of times he was the one getting all the glory. And, uh, there’s no sour grapes there – he’s my best friend – but, you know, sometimes it’s nice to be put in a position, like I’ll be at FastLane, where, you know, I can take home the gold. (…) This is the time of year where, you know, it’s playoff season. You start to gear up and work out just a little bit – that much harder, and everything just gets intensified. And, you know, it’s the time of year where you don’t make mistakes. I don’t believe that the championship make the guy. I believe the guy makes the championship. There hasn’t been a guy who’s wanted to make that championship in a long time. It’s a reward to be able to say I’m WWE Intercontinental Champion because what that’s meant in the past, and what that can mean in the future. I’m gonna bust Wade Barrett up. I’m gonna beat Wade Barrett. I’m gonna win the Intercontinental Championship. I’m gonna bring that championship back to where it belongs – back to prominence. I’m gonna take it to WrestleMania, and I’m gonna take that championship to heights it ain’t ever been.” –DEAN AMBROSE.

One of the best promo videos I have ever seen

Credit: dritydeeds on Tumblr.
Credit: dritydeeds on Tumblr.
I wasn’t very ambitious to actually watch FastLane. Like I said in previous reviews there was always a chance that Dean Ambrose would only get this Intercontinental championship at WrestleMania 31. To be honest I didn’t expect it anywhere before the end of March – if he would get it at all.

But then WWE came around with this little teaser in the pre-show of Dean Ambrose talking about honour and pride surrounding the Intercontinental championship in the past. That he wants to take it to new heights and meaning and everything. Really well done, WWE. Because you got me for one last time. I’m saying “one last time” because from now on I won’t fall for anything anymore. How good of a promotion you will do for one of the greatest wrestlers that ever graced your company, I won’t fall for it. How much you will tease that something actually really good will happen to Dean Ambrose – just cut it. I won’t watch your shows anymore. Because this time I did again: watching FastLane just because of the promo by Dean Ambrose in the pre-show because I started to think that maybe – just maybe – this time would be different.

Just to make Dean Ambrose fans stay tuned for FastLane
But it wasn’t. Not even the match itself was really good. The whole show was made from replays of previous SmackDown and RAW, so the actual matches weren’t that long. No time to really tell a story. Nothing to make anything look important or meaningful. So Dean Ambrose and Wade Barrett barely had time to show something special. Most of it looked rushed; Dean Ambrose most of the time only showed routine sequences. At the end Wade Barrett left the ring, got his Intercontinental championship belt and was about to leave the battleground when Dean Ambrose suicidal dived through the ropes, then trying to get him back inside of the ring. Yeah, that’s some kind of a story with the cowardly acting champion, not wanting to defend his belt and basically just sit on it to get a decent run with it. But Wade Barrett for such kind of a character? As much as I want for Dean Ambrose to get this belt, Wade Barrett now turning from the arrogant intellectual who refused to grant Dean Ambrose a championship match because he wasn’t worth it at the beginning of their feud into the coward who just uses the regulations of a championship to keep his belt, is just rubbish and completely illogical.

And of course Dean Ambrose lost his temper at the end of the match again or in other words, he let his temper get the best of him. So he got Wade Barrett cornered, couldn’t get off him when he was on the ropes, so the referee disqualified Dean Ambrose for Wade Barrett to retain. And how ironic that the best part of their match happened after the actual match again. Because this time Dean Ambrose took the belt and left the ring with it. You can call it stealing. But Dean Ambrose certainly thought that he was more worth to carry this belt around than the cowardly Wade Barrett.

And disappoint them again

Credit: fyeahambrose on Tumblr.
Credit: fyeahambrose on Tumblr.
Now after all these happenings Tom Phillips still had the guts to interrupt Dean Ambrose backstage from throwing stuff around. He even told him that this belt that he still had in hand, actually was Bad News Barrett ones. This was Dean Ambrose’s answer to that:

“Oh. This is – this is Bad News Barrett’s. ‘Cuz I lost that match. I lost that match out there, huh? Because I was standin’ and he’s laid out on the mat. Brother’s laid out on the mat, and I lost that fight. Maybe I don’t know how to win a fight anymore. Maybe I’m a little bit confused. I didn’t go to wrestling school when I was sixteen to learn how to play patty-cake, to learn how to chase people out of the ring, to learn how to force people to get in the ring, to go play tag. I learned how to stand in the ring and fight. If I was the Intercontinental champion, that’s what I would do. But Bad News Barrett won’t stand in the ring and fight and call himself Intercontinental champion. He’s a disgrace. He’s a disgrace to Pat Patterson. He’s a disgrace to Stone Cold Steve Austin, Mr. Perfect, Brett Hart. He’s a disgrace to me because I gave up my life chasin’ after stuff like this. You know what, you can go ahead and call me the Intercontinental Champion as of now. They wanna call me a lunatic so they can sell tee shirts and DQ me every friggin’ two seconds – fine, call me a lunatic. Call me the lunatic champion of the world. I will defend this belt with my life.”

   –DEAN AMBROSE. (thanks to Gia for the transcription)

So, Dean Ambrose has got no intentions to get the belt back to its real owner. Knowing the results from RAW I’m already back to fuming, but my words on that I’m leaving for this actual review. Be prepared and stay tuned for that.

Leave a Reply

