Dean Ambrose having stolen the Intercontinental championship belt from Wade Barrett on FastLane could have been the upbeat to a really fun chase between these two, culminating in a great one-on-one match at WrestleMania. But naturally the WWE had other plans. Or do they actually have a plan?

"I try to do things on the up and up. I climb the mountain on hands knees step by step. And every time I get a few steps up I slide a few steps down. See, things are getting really confusing in WWE these days. Get The Authority making matches, you got non-title matches, you got people running in in other people's matches, sticking their nose in other peoples' business, I'm getting DQd every two seconds 'cause I can't follow the rules! It's a lot to handle. So I’m gonna dumb things down real, real low for everybody. I wanted the Intercontinental championship, so I took it. It's mine now. I am the Intercontinental champion. Bad News Barrett could have been a great Intercontinental champion. Bad News Barrett is one of the toughest guys in this industry if he'd get his head out off his own butt. Now he's too busy playing wrestler. Little bit of money, little bit of gold makes you soft. Around Bad News Barrett's waist this is paper. This ain't paper. This is my title. This is my title. And I'm gonna make things real simple and easy to understand for everybody. If you want this, come and get it!" --DEAN AMBROSE.
“I try to do things on the up and up. I climb the mountain on hands knees step by step. And every time I get a few steps up I slide a few steps down. See, things are getting really confusing in WWE these days. Get The Authority making matches, you got non-title matches, you got people running in in other people’s matches, sticking their nose in other peoples’ business, I’m getting DQd every two seconds ’cause I can’t follow the rules! It’s a lot to handle. So I’m gonna dumb things down real, real low for everybody. I wanted the Intercontinental championship, so I took it. It’s mine now. I am the Intercontinental champion. Bad News Barrett could have been a great Intercontinental champion. Bad News Barrett is one of the toughest guys in this industry if he’d get his head out off his own butt. Now he’s too busy playing wrestler. Little bit of money, little bit of gold makes you soft. Around Bad News Barrett’s waist this is paper. This ain’t paper. This is my title. This is my title. And I’m gonna make things real simple and easy to understand for everybody. If you want this, come and get it!” –DEAN AMBROSE.

Everything Dean Ambrose during RAW

Credit: WWE on Instagram.Edit by Eire+Alba (me).
Credit: WWE on Instagram.
Edit by Eire+Alba (me).
Credit: fyeahambrose on Tumblr.
Credit: fyeahambrose on Tumblr.
From the start of RAW WWE was teasing some important Dean Ambrose segment with the picture on their Instagram account plus the backstage photo on the WWE app. I usually don’t watch RAW live but only follow the app and Twitter as long as I’m still awake. But even if I had watched it, I could have missed it in a blink of an eye. Because just when Dolph Ziggler won his match against Wade Barrett with R-Truth on commentary, Dean Ambrose came out with the belt, walked half around the ring, climbed into the ring, trash talked Wade Barrett, who was lying in one corner of the ring, went on to a stand off with the Showoff, shoved the Showoff on his way back outside the ring and finally went back into the catacombs of the arena in Nashville, Tennessee. That was it – one minute of Dean Ambrose in the show, to tease a Fatal-4-Way match for the Intercontinental championship at WrestleMania 31 because somehow WWE thinks that Dean Ambrose can’t have a one-on-one match that is good.

Or WWE just don’t want to show the fans that Dean Ambrose indeed can pull off the roof with his one-on-one matches, so he can’t take away from others who aren’t able to do so. So, yeah, keep calm. We give Dean Ambrose this title but only in a Fatal-4-Way where he’ll only be able to throw punches and kicks for the best amount of time. I’m really sick and tired of his booking. And, WWE, your strategy won’t force me to watch your golden boy. I don’t follow any religion. So I won’t believe you when you tell us on and on and on that Roman Reigns is great. Because I can watch and he is not. Maybe he can do better some time. But he just doesn’t have this passion and love for wrestling that people like Dean Ambrose, William Regal and others have. He will never be able to tell a decent story in the ring when everything he does is getting the hot tag in tag matches and made look strong by his opponents in one-on-one matches. Winning everything doesn’t make you a good wrestler. It just shows who is seen as the new face of the company. And unfortunately for Reigns, he just only have got this nice poster face. That’s all. The funny thing is that I don’t mind him being the poster boy. Just don’t try to make little children believe that Roman Reigns is a great wrestler when he’s not. The best use for Reigns would be with Paul Heyman as his voice and a booking like Brock Lesnar: standing in the ring with the title on his shoulder, nodding graciously to Heyman’s monologues and having a match four times a year. I bet Paul Heyman won’t like it at all but it would be the best for Reigns.

Everything Dean Ambrose after RAW

Credit: belahrenee on Tumblr.
Credit: belahrenee on Tumblr.
First of all there was an 8-man tag team match between Dean Ambrose, John Cena, Roman Reigns & Daniel Bryan and Big Show, Kane, Seth Rollins & Bray Wyatt. During his short appearing on RAW Dean Ambrose had his hands taped, so I knew he would have a match this evening. But once again it wasn’t shown on TV. It’s kind of ironic that Dean Ambrose always works these dark matches with the top guys of the company. But on TV he is shoved to mid-card, limited with his move-set and not allowed to work good one-on-one matches. This time here probably Big Show stripped Dean Ambrose down and one fan took a good photo from it. Naturally John Cena won the match for his team but still, I’m more angry about Dean Ambrose being involved in this match when he’s made look weak on TV.

But there was still something good to come. Dean Ambrose himself admitted that he doesn’t really like written promos presented in the middle of the ring. He’s more comfortable doing them backstage on his own. And I like to think that this one was actually his promo, his own words because it fits more the character that I would see in him. Not this Lunatic Fringe character. Definitely not The Unstable One. Maybe a little crazy but primarily against the establishment, serious about the meaning of titles, little loose with his temper but being able to pull himself together when it actually matters. I still hope that Dean Ambrose will get the Intercontinental championship at WrestleMania 31. But I’m afraid that his title run is only the one that he currently have – with the stolen belt – and it’s made by WWE so they don’t have to make Dean Ambrose the actual champion.


Other good and horrible things regarding Dean Ambrose from yesterday

Credit: Steve J. Rickman on Twitter.Dean Ambrose on The Rock 100.5 Morning Show
Credit: Steve J. Rickman on Twitter.
Dean Ambrose on The Rock 100.5 Morning Show.
Credit: 92.9 The Game on Twitter.Dean Ambrose on The Morning Show with Marc & Randy.
Credit: 92.9 The Game on Twitter.
Dean Ambrose on The Morning Show with Marc & Randy.
Being shoved to the mid-card of course also doesn’t mean that Dean Ambrose hasn’t to do media stuff anymore. Far from it. But at least we’re getting some fun stuff to hear, not scripted, still a bit on kayfabe but that doesn’t take away from these interviews on some radio morning shows. Enjoy while listening.

Then I expanded my virtual Dean Ambrose & William Regal shrine a little bit with transcriptions from William Regal commentary and Dean Ambrose promos during their feud in FCW. Just click here if you like to watch and read everything about this great feud. Just recently, of course, the DVD “Destruction of The Shield” was released where a good part of it was about this feud. Also of course I still don’t have it because here in Europe it’s only released on 9th March. But I couldn’t resist to already search around for information about it and found this great Gif set from Dean Ambrose talking his rivalry with William Regal. Definitely something good that happened in the last couple of days.

Dean Ambrose But now for the really horrible one that is this dreadfulness that you can see on the left side, the new (official!) merchandize shirt of Dean Ambrose. Credit for the picture obviously goes to WWE but I won’t link you there. If you really like and actually want to get this personified ugliness, then please search it yourself. But I definitely won’t encourage you to do so. Instead buy the hoodie or the really good shirt with just the anarchy DA logo on it. Buy this stuff twice and thrice. But please don’t encourage WWE to throw more such horrible things at us with buying this crap. I’m not really sure if someone really thought that this was great merchandize. Or if they just try to shove this horrible ‘unstable’ and ‘Lunatic Fringe’ character at us, so we have to accept it and don’t demand anything better for Dean Ambrose anymore. A couple of months ago I have seen a placeholder in the EuroShop of WWE, teasing a ‘Dirty Deeds’ shirt, but I never seen a picture and it never materialized. Knowing about the connection to William Regal with this name, this one would have been a must-have buy for me. But nope, WWE still only puts this disgusting ‘unstable’ on almost any merchandize of Dean Ambrose. Perhaps because he himself just finds it horrible and he had the guts to say it on live television. That’s probably just WWE’s own very specific way of saying, ‘we don’t care what you say and we don’t care about what the fans think; Dean Ambrose won’t get proper merchandize, so he can’t outsell all other WWE wrestlers anymore’. I only hope that Dean Ambrose isn’t forced to actually wear this hideousness on live television or fan meeting or just at all.

Yes, I think I’m done with my rant. For now.

Leave a Reply

